Daily Prompt: Back to School| Another chance to make it right

If you could take a break from your life and go back to school to master a subject, what would it be?

Even before this daily prompt appeared, I’ve already thought about this question. Not so much of going back to school to master another subject, but rather if I could do my College life all over again, I would do it in a heartbeat.

Why?

I majored in Biological Sciences in College, a subject which I regretted choosing. You see, in Singapore, technical subjects like Sciences, Engineering, IT and Math are considered to be subjects that can earn you a living after graduation. On the other hand, anything related to subjects like Arts, Music, Dance etc are considered to be useless. Needless to say, you make your parents proud if you’re a doctor or lawyer. So I thought, since I wasn’t good enough to be a doctor, Biological science would sort of make me a scientist, and that’s close enough? Better to study something that ensures me a rice bowl after graduation.. I thought I liked Bio enough to do it for life. I thought being a scientist was something I could live with.

But I was wrong.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Bio. I enjoy learning the interesting facts and researching on the groundbreaking studies. These are good and fun to know. But when I had to memorise the facts to score in examinations, my interest waned. And because my memory wasn’t the best, I couldn’t score well when pit against other students who knew they wanted to be a scientist all their lives. Halfway through the degree course, I realised that I wasn’t that much of a science person at all! In fact, the only As I scored were in Literature and writing modules. How ironic.

I graduated with an average score.. And I had no idea what I can do with a Bio degree as I didn’t want to be a scientist. I just couldn’t see myself contributing to major breakthroughs in science. I was instead interested in writing, handicraft, sewing… I’ve sewn enough things to make my father say, “If you’ve gone to a fashion design school, you’d have become a good seamstress/fashion designer instead…” His words were filled with regret.

He was right. So if I could take a break and go back to school, I would take up professional sewing classes, and perhaps fashion design. I’m a product of wrong decisions made because no one guided me along. All I did was ask what society would like me to do. But no one told me to ask myself, “What do I like? What do I want to do for a living? What makes me happy?”. No one told me that I am the most important person to please in my life, and everything else was secondary.

Signing off,

Jazrylle

Inspired by Daily Prompt

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Back to School| Another chance to make it right

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Back to School | flow of my soul

  2. I would take chemistry so that I can fulfil my dream of being a vet. right now if I do it, it would take 6 yrs in Scotland.. :)

    first time here and I like it.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Back to School | prettywitgla33es

Leave a Comment

